Frequently Asked Questions

What are your business hours?
Friendly FFL Services operates by appointment only.

Do you have guns & ammo in stock?
NO. I only handle the transfer process for guns and ammunition purchased online by you.

Can I buy any handgun that I want?
NO. California law requires that handguns (sold at retail) be included on its list of Handguns Certified for Sale (also known as the Handgun Roster). If the handgun you want to buy does not appear on the list then you cannot buy it. (Exemptions exist, but in general you are most likely subject to this law.)

Do you facilitate interstate intra-familial transfers?
YES. The process for receiving firearms as gifts from a grandparent, parent or child who lives outside of California is simple. Send me your details via email or text message, and I will reply with instructions.

Are your fees negotiable?
YES. I strive to arrive at fair deals for all my customers, yet stay in business at the same time. I’m more interested in extending 2A rights to law-abiding Californians than making money.
Ask about the Friendly FFL Best Price Guarantee.

What forms of payment do you accept?
I accept cash, personal checks, USPS money orders, cashier’s checks, Cash App, Venmo, and Apple Cash. Sorry, no credit/debit cards.

Do you facilitate ammunition transfers?
YES. See here for transfer fee information. (California charges $1 for the Standard ammunition eligibility check; ammo transferred with a firearm will not incur the $1 fee.)

How do I buy ammunition online?
California law requires ammunition purchased online to be processed through a licensed California Ammunition Vendor. Ship your ammo to me, and then I will transfer it to you. Contact pewpew@FriendlyFFL.com to request shipping approval.

How do I buy a gun online?
Buying a gun online is just as easy as buying anything else online. The one very important difference is FIREARMS CANNOT BE SHIPPED DIRECTLY TO THE BUYER. Firearms must be shipped to a federally licensed firearms dealer. That’s where I come in. Ship your California-compliant firearm to me, and then I will transfer it to you. Contact pewpew@FriendlyFFL.com to request shipping approval.

How does the transfer process work?
After receiving your California-compliant firearm, I will schedule an appointment for you to inspect it, and begin the transfer paperwork. (Inspecting the firearm thoroughly before starting the transfer is important because once the transfer process is complete, the gun is yours and may not be returned to the merchant. If you encounter problems with your firearm after the transfer is complete, you must contact the manufacturer for warranty and repair issues.) The paperwork involved in the transfer process includes filling out the federal Firearms Transaction Record (Form 4473), and the California Dealer Record of Sale (DROS). California law requires a minimum 10-day waiting period for firearm transfers to be approved.

What documents must I bring to my appointment?
For HANDGUNS:
1. REAL ID version of California driver license or ID Card (also U.S. passport or birth certificate if not REAL ID version, or Permanent Resident card if not a U.S. citizen, or a U.S.-issued alien admission document and unexpired hunting license or other exception)
2. Firearm Safety Certificate (if not exempt)
3. Residency document, such as DMV auto registration or PG&E bill

For LONG GUNS and RECEIVERS:
1. REAL ID version of California driver license or ID Card (also U.S. passport or birth certificate if not REAL ID version, or Permanent Resident card if not a U.S. citizen, or a U.S.-issued alien admission document and unexpired hunting license or other exception)
2. Firearm Safety Certificate (if not exempt) or unexpired hunting license

For AMMUNITION:
1. REAL ID version of California driver license or ID Card (also U.S. passport or birth certificate if not REAL ID version, or Permanent Resident card if not a U.S. citizen, or a U.S.-issued alien admission document and unexpired hunting license or other exception)

What is a Firearm Safety Device (FSD), and why do I need one?
California law requires that every firearm sold or transferred in the state have a firearm safety device (FSD) associated with it. Moreover, the FSD must be California-compliant; you can see the Roster of Firearm Safety Devices Certified for Sale here. Common FSDs are cable locks, trigger locks, gun safes and lockboxes. Many guns come with an FSD included, but many do not. Talk to me about how to comply with this requirement when filling out your paperwork.

When will my package be delivered?
Please understand that the large commercial delivery companies (e.g. FedEx, UPS, USPS) are hit and miss when it comes to reliability and customer service. You must have extreme patience while I try my best to successfully secure delivery of your order. Once I have your shipment in hand, I’ll contact you to schedule an appointment.

What are your PPT fees?
Private Party Transfer (PPT) fees are mandated by the state at $37.19 + $10 maximum per firearm (e.g. PPT fees for transferring 3 firearms would cost $67.19).